Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Instagram is among the most popular social media networks, mostly for image sharing and product advertising.
Social media may be exhausting at times, and if you need a vacation from what influencers have been doing, here’s how to cancel your Instagram account.
How To Delete Your Instagram Account.
You can permanently delete your account by only using a web browser to access Instagram. The Instagram app does not allow you to deactivate your account.
Here’s a simple step-by-step guide on how to go about it.
- Sign in to Instagram.com.
- Click “Help” on the right-hand side of the page, underneath the ‘Suggestions For You’ list.
- Click “Managing Your Account”.
- Click “Delete Your Account”.
- Click “How do I delete my Instagram account”, followed by the “Delete Your Account” hyperlink that appears under that.
- A drop-down menu will appear asking you to select your reason for deleting your account.
- To continue, re-enter your password.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click “permanently delete my account”.
Your Instagram account is now deleted and you are permanently off the network.
Can I Restore My Deleted Instagram Account?
There is no way to recover your account after it has been deleted.
To get back on Instagram, you must register again. You can use the same email address that you used for your deleted account, but you may not be able to acquire the same username.
The social media giant (Instagram) advises on its website that “you may not be able to get the same username” but don’t rule out the possibility of using it if you’re lucky.
What Happens To My Instagram Photos If I Delete My Account?
Once you delete your account, all actions performed on the app will be permanently deleted too. Any photos, followers, messages, likes, comments, and all that you ever did on the app, will be deleted.
If you want to save your photos from being deleted you can deactivate your account. This will allow you to hide your profile but if you’d ever want to use it again, you just reactivate the same account.
Below is a simple way to deactivate your Instagram account:
To Deactivate Your Account:
- Sign in to Instagram.com.
- Head to your profile page, and select “Edit Profile” at the top, next to your username.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page, and select the option to “Temporarily disable my account”.
- You will be asked to choose a reason from a drop-down list as to why you are disabling your account and then asked to enter your password.
- Select “Temporarily Disable Account”.
- To reactivate your account, simply log in with your username and password.
If you just deactivated the account, it might not be reactivated immediately, so give it some time.
Can I Use Instagram Without An Account?
A BIG NO. Due to an Instagram update released in 2020, you can no longer browse Instagram without having an account on the platform.
If you try to view profiles, posts, or stories, you will be automatically sent to a log-in page where you’ll be required to sign up or log-in
There’s no going back when you delete your Instagram account. What I’ll suggest is for you to deactivate your account.
This is the best option because although your profile won’t be out of Instagram’s system, your presence on the platform will go off and you still get to keep all your posts and you can reactivate your account whenever the need be.
A BIG thank you for reading this article on GhanaTechBase.com. We do hope you enjoyed its content.SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube Channel for more Tech Reviews, How-To Videos, and other helpful Tech Bits.